Malcolm X, Politics, Random Thoughts, video

embracing change

This is a song that I couldn’t listen to after my mother passed. As soon as I would hear it in X knowing that was the cue for Minister Malcolm’s assassination I would instantly get sad. Truthfully it didn’t do much for me when President Obama used it in his campaign.

Now when I hear it, it becomes a little inspirational. I was so afraid of change earlier in my life because I knew it meant leaving some of your favorite things behind. That included people, whether it was from death, conflict, or just plain growth change was going to occur.

 I am a lot older than I was when I first heard the song and as Sam sang a change did come. Now I embrace the possibility of change.  I even marvel at the process. Change no longer frightens me.  

 

 

1 thought on “embracing change”

Leave a Reply

