education, Hip-Hop, Random Thoughts

RANDOM THOUGHTS… “I AIN’T GOING TO SEE DJANGO WITH A D”

images-6

NOW I WAS PROBABLY AS EXCITED AS THE NEXT QUENTON TARANTINO FAN TO SEE WHAT HE HAD CONJURED FOR US THIS CHRISTMAS. THEN I HEARD ABOUT SPIKE LEE’S COMMENTS ON THE MOVIE… THEN I WATCHED BAMBOOZLED AND THAT SEALED IT! I AM NOT SURE I LIKE OR APPRECIATE WHITE PEOPLE TELLING MY STORY OR MY ANCESTORS STORY WITHOUT THE SENSITIVITY IT DESERVES. CALL ME OLD SCHOOL, CALL ME BLIND, BUT RIGHT NOW I FEEL LIKE STANDING UP FOR SOMETHING IS NEEDED.article-2248211-16789D7A000005DC-728_634x422 SO FOR ME THIS IS IT, NOW I AM SURE AT SOME POINT I WILL SEE THE MOVIE BUT I AM GOING TO BE STRATEGIC WITH MY DOLLAR ON THIS ONE.
NOW I AM NOT SURE THERE ARE A LOT OF PEOPLE THAT FEEL STRONGLY ABOUT TARANTINO’S USE OF THE N-WORD, BUT I DO. IT MAKES ME UNEASY TO HEAR THE WHITE ACTORS CASTED IN HIS MOVIES USE IT EXCESSIVELY. IN THOSE SCENE’S NIGGER IS SLUNG AROUND RECKLESSLY AND CARELESSLY,
THERE IS NO ENDEARMENT BEHIND, IT ALWAYS FEELS RACIALLY DEROGATORY AND I JUST AIN’T THAT COOL WITH IT. SO CONSIDER THIS A NON-AGGRESSIVE BOYCOTT, FOR THE MOMENT.

@DJOSHARP

Leave a Reply

